Music, Wine and Valentines

 

Sunday, February 11, 2018

4:00 pm First Unitarian Church  

Wine Tastings and Reception provided by the CCO Board of Directors

BAX: Quintet for Oboe and Strings
ELGAR: Piano Quintet in A Minor, Op 84

 

COMPOSERS FROM ENGLAND move to the forefront in our third concert of the series as we present two impressive quintets by Sir Edward Elgar and Sir Arnold Bax.  A string quartet plus oboe was a highly unusual combination at the time Bax wrote this work but his colorful writing makes this a winning combination.  For his piano quintet, Elgar had an unlikely source of inspiration from a story about the supernatural, a topic the composer loved.

Performers to include: Christina Bouey, Hisaichi Shimura, Melinda Daetsch, Anthony Bracewell, Rosemary Elliott, John Lathwell, and Xak Bjerken.

 

This season, we offer a special treat with post-concert receptions intended to complement the music.  Free to all ticket-holders, it’s a wonderful way to spend an afternoon with memorable live music, regional wine and beer tastings, and fellow music lovers.  Be sure to get your tickets today!


 

Sign up to receive occasional emails from the CCO
Sign Up


Tickets available at

Call: 800 838 3006

Upcoming Events

Annual Volunteer Appreciation
Wednesday, August 8, 2018

A Heroic Beginning
Friday, September 21, 2018

Red Chair Spotlight (Victoria Miskolczy)
Sunday, September 23, 2018

Music Without Borders
Sunday, October 7, 2018

Family Concert #1
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Dynamic Duos
Saturday, November 3, 2018

Generational Gap
Sunday, November 18, 2018

Holidays with Handel
Saturday, December 8, 2018

CCO Youth Orchestra - Winter Concert
Saturday, January 12, 2019

Family Concert #2
Thursday, March 14, 2019