Meaning and Metamorphosis

 

Saturday, November 18, 2017

7:30 pm Ford Hall, Ithaca College  

Pre-concert Chat at 6:45pm

PÄRT: Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten
SHOSTAKOVICH: Concerto No. 1 in C Minor for Piano, Trumpet, and Strings, Op 35
     Peter Bond, trumpet
     Tatiana Tessman, piano
R. STRAUSS: Metamorphosen

 Tessman 3 for webBond 2 for web

TRANSFORMATIVE music often rises out of the most traumatic times and meaningful turning points. Pärt wrote this Cantus in Britten’s honor after learning he had died. Metamorphosen was composed just as the Nazi regime was in its final days. And after a particularly crushing blow that almost made him quit composing, Shostakovich triumphed with this powerful concerto. We eagerly welcome award-winning Russian pianist Tatiana Tessman and trumpeter Bond Peter Bond of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, for their first appearance with the CCO.


Subscribe today to get the best seats!

Click here to request a brochure and order form be mailed, or click here to download.

Remember to arrive early for the Pre-concert Chat at 6:45pm.  Free to all ticket-holders, this is a wonderful chance to hear a bit about the evening’s program directly from our music director and guest artists.

 

*Single tickets will be available starting in mid-August.

 

Sign up to receive occasional emails from the CCO
Sign Up


Tickets available at

Call: 800 838 3006

Upcoming Events

Grand Opening
Saturday, September 23, 2017

Serenade, Smetana and Spirits
Sunday, October 8, 2017

Tchaikovsky, Beethoven and Brews
Sunday, November 5, 2017

Family Concert #1
Thursday, November 16, 2017

Meaning and Metamorphosis
Saturday, November 18, 2017

Holiday Pops
Sunday, December 10, 2017

Music, Wine and Valentines
Sunday, February 11, 2018

Family Concert #2
Thursday, March 8, 2018

Edgar Meyer
Saturday, March 10, 2018

Perfect Pairings
Sunday, April 15, 2018